Life and adventures in The Hedge. Because you NEED an alligator in the backyard

Day and Night

 

I have to admit the best time in the hedge is sunrise. The little bit of time where the sun has risen to cast daylight on the world. Yet the sun has not risen quite high enough to be a blaring spot light.

This time of day the hedge seems calm and peaceful. Birds sing. Water drips from roofs. A mist sits over the water.

These precious few minutes each day are what the brochures are always written about – the calm and peace.

I really do enjoy this time of day. I can bring my work out on the back porch and have those few moments of living in paradise we all seek.

Then give it a few moments and reality comes screeching in. The sun comes over the trees with a blinding intensity. Cats run screaming past having a territorial war. “Do not threaten to steal my food or mess with my portal.”

The train roars through shaking everything. Everything comes fully awake. The sounds of the lawn crew come in and destroy any quite that is left.

Day comes to the hedge.  Busyness abounds. Dogs run away…owners yelling after them. Squirrels scream at all interlopers. Cars drive too fast.

Day almost seems normal – unless there is an alligator to freak you out. Last week was the major freak out day over the alligators.

Try engaging in a conference call while an 8ft bull sits on your lawn roaring. I know he’s just trying to court his lady. But when the window rattles because of his bellow it can disrupt your day.

The sight of a second VERY large alligator did throw me off. I was considering calling Fish and Wildlife to have him removed. Honestly though, I was waiting for my daughter to return from school. I wanted her to get to see the big monster on the lawn. Alas, the roaring of the alligator had freaked out another neighbor. 

We came home to the trapper. In his waders with a bang stick…and a fishing pole? The fishing pole I’m still not sure exactly why he had a fishing pole. I will tell you this trapper was not worth his salt. He was going to be happy to just remove one alligator.

“If I get the female, the male will probably just leave.”  Great. Leave the huge monster lurking around.

In reality in the 6 days since the trapper appeared he has only made things worse. You see alligators are smarter than I ever gave them credit for. Since the trapper came no alligator has laid out to sun on my shores. My yard has the sunniest patch of grass in the whole hedge. I am not sure where they are sunning themselves. The alligators are hiding.

All I know is at least one of them is still here.

Last evening I looked out on the water to see the head and back of one gator floating about on the water. In the late day sun, the bump of his eyes looked to be this odd pinkish color. It was an eerie but almost beautiful sight.

Darkness sets in – the worst time in the hedge. You can’t see what is going on around you. Yes, you can take a flashlight and try to shine the gator. When you spot him that feels good. I can have a stare off & feel okay letting the dog out. But it is when I can’t find him that freaks me out.

Last night he wanted me to know he was still here. I turned on the light and opened the door then shined the flashlight; the post darkness ritual when letting out the dog. No gator in sight. Then he decided to croak. It was like he was saying – “you betcha I’m still here!”

I haven’t been able to see the full gator. I’m not sure if I still have one or two. I know I have at least one. But last night I did not hear a response to the croaks of love. Perhaps, one gator has finally been removed.  What does that leave me with for options? Two gators = baby gators. Female gator = another male coming to mate. Male gator = a heartbroken male on the move to find a new mate. I can’t say I like any of the options.

Most of the night sounds in the hedge don’t freak me out. I get the hooting of owls. Dislike the screaming of raccoon wars. Not sure what makes the monkey-like sound. In the end, I’m okay with all those things. It is the crafty reptile that worries me in the dark. I know he likes to hunt in the dark. Night will be an uneasy time in the hedge until the croaking ends and I know that they have moved on or been captured.

Leave a Reply

